The FA Trophy holders Balzan secured a comfortable win over Second Division side San Gwann exposing the difference in the level between the Premier League and the Second Division.

For this game Balzan made several changes from their last Premier League match against Hibernians. He gave chances to the young players Zachary Karl Grech, Marcus Grima, Adam Bradshaw and Zak Grech. Balzan welcomed back injured Ivan Bozovic and Nenad Sljivic who served a three game suspension, while Steven Beazzina, Steven Pisani and Paul Fenech were on the bench but not utilised.

The difference of the teams on the pitch was evident and the majority of the play was in the San Gwann teritory. Balzan dictated most of the play and forced San Gwann to defend for long spells.


FA CUP 3rd Round vs San Gwann Highlights

Posted by Balzan F.C. on Monday, December 2, 2019


In the 27th minute, Balzan broke the deadlock when following a teasing free-kick by Ricardo Calixto Correa Duarte, MICHAEL JOHNSON connected and headed the ball behind goalkeeper Cain Formosa.

Balzan continued to dictate play for the rest of the first half and seemed to be content with the proceedings as San Gwann never threatened the Balzan defence.

Just before the end of the first half, Balzan doubled the score when, following a corner-kick taken by Marcus Grima, a goalmouth scramble occurred in the San Ġwann box and finally ANDRIJA MAJDEVAC finished the ball home from close range.

In the second half, Balzan continued were they left, with San Ġwann keeping their plan of cramming their defence and midfield in a bid to prevent the Balzan forwards in order not to conceded further goals.

In the 57th minute, Balzan managed to increase the score when from a corner-kick taken by Marcus Grima, ALFRED EFFIONG finished the ball home

In the 81st minute, Balzan went close to increase the score for Balzan when a curling shot from the left by substitute Arthur Faria Machado was met by Nenad Sljivic whose shot finished just out.

BALZAN : Kristijan Naumovski, Marcus Grima (Adam Bradshaw 66′), Dale Camilleri, Nenad Sljivic, Zachary Karl Grech, Michael Johnson, Alfred Effiong, Ivan Bozovic, Stefan Dimic ( Arthur Faria Machado 59′), Ricardo Calixto Correa Duarte, Andrija Majdevac (Zak Grech 76′).

SAN GWANN : Cain Formosa, Nezar Fawzi Abouhaisa (Matthew Xuereb 69′), Jean Paul Attard, Luca Mallia (Andrea Zammit 76′), Christian Gauci, Owen Spiteri, Zackary Bowman, Jesusemen Courage Omoruanzoje (Andrew Abela 64′), Joao Pedro Vargas, Glen Pace, Adam Falzon.

Referee: Daniel Portelli